NOTE: All faculty and staff are  working off campus until at least June 15.
We remain in contact by email.

Faculty and Staff

You'll be spending at least three hours a week with your instructor so look for someone whose teaching style is in sync with your learning style.  Click on the instructor's name to learn a little more about him or her.

Full Time Faculty Phone Office Classes Taught
* = offered online at least once/year
Peter Aguilar
ptaguilar@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4121 EBS-315 BMS 107: Human Anatomy *summer 1
BMS 108: Human Physiology
Faculty Advisor: Biomedical Sciences
Blakely R. Barron
brbarron@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4244 EBS-322 BIOL 102: Animal Biology
BMS 136: Biology of Human Sexuality*
* = offered online Summer I
Faculty Advisor: Biology
Jennifer Betancourt
jabetancourt1@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4123 EBS-125A BIOL 103: Cell & Molecular Biology
Robert H. Fischer
rhfischer@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.8780 EBS-314 BMS 127: Medical Microbiology
Larry Jon Friesen
ljfriesen@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4118 EBS-324 BIOL 110: Natural Science*, BIOL 112: Evolution*, BIOL 120: Natural History*, BIOL 122: Ecology*, BIOL  123 Ecology Lab*, BIOL 140: Principles of Biology*, BIOL 141 Biology Lab*, ZOOL 122: Animal Diversity*, ZOOL 124: Insect Biology*
* = offered online at least once/year
Faculty Advisor: Natural History
Adam Green akgreen@pipeline.sbcc.edu 805.730.4194 EBS-323 BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
BIOL 130: Methods in Field Biology
ENVS 110: Humans & the Biological Environment*
ENVS 111: Environmental Field Studies
ENVS 200: Projects in Sustainability
* = offered online at least once/year
Matthew C. Kay
mckay@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.5172 EBS-307 BOT 100: Concepts of Botany
BOT 122: Flowering Plant Identification (spring only)
BOT 123: Field Botany (fall only) 
Jennifer L. Maupin
jlmaupin@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4196 EBS-321 BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
BIOL 112: Evolution & Adaptation
BIOL 120: Natural History
Michelle Paddack
mjpaddack@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4128 EBS-320 BIOL 102: Animal Biology
BIOL 124: Biological Oceanography
BIOL 125: Marine Biology
BIOL 142: Marine Science
Patty Saito
pesaito@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4316 EBS-319 BMS 100: The Human Body
BMS 107: Human Anatomy
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Barry Tanowitz
bdtanowitz@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.5178 EBS-306 BMS 107: Human Anatomy
BMS 108: Human Physiology
Eric Wise
eawise@pipeline.sbcc.edu
805.730.4317 EBS-305 BIOL 101: Plant Biology
BMS 146: Human Form & Function
Faculty Advisor: Biology




Faculty Advisors 
Biological Sciences: Blakely Barron (EBS-322, 805.730.4244) and Eric Wise (EBS-324, ext. 4317)
Bio-Medical Sciences:  Peter Aguilar (EBS-315, 805.730.4121)
Environmental Studies:  Adam Green (EBS-323, 805.730.4194)
Natural History:  Larry Jon Friesen (EBS-324, 805.730.4118) for online students and Jennifer Maupin (EBS-321, 805.730.4196 for on-campus students.

Part Time Faculty

Classes Taught
 * = offered online at least once/year
Gregg Afman
gafman@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BMS 107: Anatomy labs
Lisa Belluzzi
ljbelluzzi@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Kris Burnell
klburnell@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
ZOO 140: Animal Behavior* online
Erin Calkins
ercalkins@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Bob Cummings
rjcummings@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BOT 121: Plant Diversity* online
Brett Dicks
bldicks@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 140 & 141 online
Tami Elmfors
tlcaddelmfors@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BMS 127: Medical Microbiology
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Krista Fahy
kafahy@pipeline.sbcc.edu
ZOO 137: Ornithology* online
ZOO 138: Biology of Birds (field course)
Hisaya Fukui
hfukui@pipeline.sbcc.edu
ZOO 122: Animal Diversity
ZOO 123: Animal Diversity Lab
Liz Gaspar
ergaspar@pipeline.sbcc.edu
labs for BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Dani Jones
dcjones4@pipeline.sbcc.edu
labs for BMS 100 & BMS 107
Michelle Kowalewski
mbkowalewski@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
ZOO 110: Animal Physiology
Mike Masson
mtmasson@pipeline.sbcc.edu
 BIOL 171:  Human Evolution
Paige Miller
pmmiller2@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BIOL 100: Concepts of Biology
Samin Moham
smoham@pipeline.sbcc.edu
BMS 127: Human Nutrition

Please leave a message for a part time instructor at the Biology Office, EBS 212, or 805.730.4111
Staff & Administration
Department Chair:
  Jennifer Maupin (EBS-321, 805.730.4196)
Biology Office:  Chelsea O'Connell (EBS-212, 805.730.4111) & Sue Williams (EBS-213, 805.730.4193)
Senior Lab Technicians: Alyssa Barbosa (EBS-333, 805.730.4184), Cecilia Contreras (EBS-218, 805.730.3438), Samuel Hammond (EBS-218, 805.730.4127), Jennifer Wachholz (EBS-333, 805.730.4119) 
Dean for the Sciences: Jens-Uwe Kuhn (A-113, 805.965.0581 ext. 4339)