Academic Senate Welcome

The Academic Senate at SBCC follows the guidance of the statewide Academic Senate for California Community Colleges, which strives to promote the effective participation in their colleges’ decision making in academic and professional matters. These matters are widely known as the “ten plus one”, and are locally specified in SBCC’s Board Policy 2510, following Title 5, Sections 53200-53206.

Academic and professional matters include:

  • Curriculum, including the establishment of prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  • Degree and certificate requirements
  • Grading policies
  • Educational program development
  • Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  • District and College governance structures as related to faculty roles
  • Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  • Policies for faculty professional development activities
  • Processes for program review
  • Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  • Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate

In addition, the consultation will include faculty hiring processes.

The work of the Academic Senate is made possible by the dedication of numerous faculty, namely senators, committee chairs and members of senate committees. Our College serves our students better because of the participation of our college faculty in the institutional decision making.

For any Academic Senate concerns, please contact me at 805-965-0581 ext. 2378  or Anita Cole, (805) 965 0581, ext 2217,

Patricia Stark, President


President: Patricia Stark 805-965-0581 x2378
President-elect: Raeanne Napoleon 
EVP Educational Programs: Pamela Ralston
ASG Representative: TBD

SENATORS                         DIVISION
Cornelia Alsheimer     Business Education
Jennifer Hamilton       Educational Support
Laurie Vasquez            Educational Support
Annette Cordero         English
Christopher Ulivo        Fine Arts
Michelle Gottwald      Health and Human Services
Devona Hawkins         Health and Human Services
Bronwen Moore           Mathematics 
Kathleen O'Connor     Physical Education, Health, Dance, Athletics
Robin Goodnough      School of Modern Languages/ESL
Jennifer Betancourt   Sciences
Robbie Fischer             Sciences and senate Vice President 
Ruth Morales                Social Sciences
Danielle Swiontek        Social Sciences
Russell Granger &
Brittanye Muschamp Technologies
Geordie Armstrong    Adjunct Faculty Credit
Tricia Mautone            Adjunct Faculty Noncredit