Faculty Awards and Honors

Back to SBCC


Annual Faculty Lecturer
Santa Barbara City College's Highest Honor

Annual Faculty Lecturer
Santa Barbara City College's Highest Honor

Announcing the 2011-12 Faculty Lecturer of the Year
Kathy O'Connor, Athletics

K OConnor Faculty Lecturer 2011_2012

2010-11 Faculty Lecturer of the Year
Dr. Mike Young, Professor of Physics

M Young Faculty Lecturer 2010

To view all previous lectures
Visit the Faculty Lecture Committee's web site.

SBCC Faculty Nominated for National and State Awards:

National Awards:

ACCT Faculty Award:

2008-2009  Dr. Janet Shapiro
2007-2008  Dr. Karolyn Hanna (recipient - Pacific Region)
2006-2007  Dr. Karolyn Hanna
2005-2006  Laurie Vasquez (recipient - Pacific Region)
2004-2005  Joseph White
2003-2004  Joseph White
2002-2003  Dr. Elida Moreno
2001-2002  Dr. Jody Millward (recipient)
2000-2001  Dr. Jody Millward

State Awards:

Exemplary Program Award: (award website)

2011-2012 Transfer Academy
2010-2011 Student-Athlete Academic Achievement Zone
2009-2010 Partnership for Student Success (recipient)
2008-2009 Student Learning Outcomes Project (Honorable Mention)
2007-2008 Professional Development Center
2006-2007 Citizenship Center (Honorable Mention)
2005-2006 Professional Development Center
2004-2005 Running Start Program (recipient)
2003-2004 Gateway to Success Program (recipient)
2002-2003 Student Health Services & Wellness Program (Honorable Mention)
2001-2002 Associate Degree Nursing
2000-2001 Associate Degree Nursing
1999-2000 Study Abroad (Honorable Mention)
1998-1999 Marine Diving Technology (recipient)
1997-1998 Marine Diving Technology
1995-1996 Multicultural English Transfer Program (recipient)
1994-1995 Disabled Student Program and Services (Honorable Mention)
1993-1994 Study Abroad Program
1992-1993 Cooperative Agencies Resources for Education (recipient)
1991-1992 Transfer Achievement Program (Honorable Mention)

Hayward Award for Excellence in Education: (award website) 

2013-2014 Jody Millward (recipient)
2011-2012 Robert Gray
2010-2011 Kathy Molloy
2009-2010 Kelly Lake
2008-2009 Tom Garey
2007-2008 Kelly Lake
2006-2007 John Kay (recipient)
2005-2006 Jan Anderson (ADN)
2004-2005 Peter O. Haslund (recipient)
2003-2004 Tom Garey
2002-2003 Tom Garey
2001-2002 Kathy O'Connor )recipient)
2000-2001 Elida Moreno

1999-2000  Peter O. Haslund
1998-1999  Janet Shapiro (recipient)
1997-1998  Jody Millward

1996-1997  Peter Georgakis (recipient)

1994-1995  Gary Carroll

1993-1994  Karolyn Hanna (recipient)
1992-1993  Cecilia Kuster (recipient)

Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award: (award website) 

2010-2011  Kathy Molloy (recipient)
2009-2010  Nick Arnold (recipient)
2008-2009  Nick Arnold
2007-2008  Dina Castillo
2006-2007  Elida Moreno
2005-2006  Laurie Vasquez
2004-2005  Sonia Zuniga-Lomeli
2003-2004  Sonia Zuniga-Lomeli
2002-2003  Laurie Vasquez
2001-2002  Manou Eskandari (recipient)

Dr. John W. Rice Diversity and Equity Award

             2010-2011   Ignacio Ponce (recipient)
             2010-2011   The Veterans Support Program, Magdalena Torres, Director 

             2009-2010   Nick Arnold


Faculty Excellence Awards 2012 - 2013

The following faculty members will be honored each month for their service and contributions to SBCC students, colleagues and campus.





Previous Recipients

Faculty Excellence Awards 2011-2012
Faculty Excellence Awards 2010-2011
Faculty Excellence Awards 2009-2010
Faculty Excellence Awards 2008-2009

Faculty Excellence Awards 2007-2008
Faculty Excellence Awards 2006-2007
Faculty Award of the Month 2005-2006
Faculty Award of the Month 2004-2005
Faculty Award of the Month 2003-2004

Award Nomination Forms and Templates
Download a nomination form for the following awards:

ACCT Faculty Award
Exemplary Program Award

Hayward Award for Excellence in Education
Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award
Faculty Excellence Award

Award Descriptions


Outside Award Descriptions, Nomination/Application Forms (these are awards that are not submitted by the faculty recognition committee - but applicants are encouraged to apply on their own)

California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office Technology Awards Program:      

Annual Faculty Awards Reception

August 24, 2007 Reception

Annual Reception for Newly Tenured Faculty

Spring, 2009 Reception

Spring, 2008 Reception

End of Year Reports

2004 - 2005

2005 - 2006

2006 - 2007

2007 - 2008

2008 - 2009

2009 - 2010

2010 - 2011

2011 - 2012


 Back to topBack to top

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2014 Santa Barbara City College