Press Releases


Luz Reyes-Martin, Executive Director of Public Affairs and Communications
(805) 730-4107

SBCC Board of Trustees elects new officers for 2019

Robert Miller  Dr. Peter Haslund      
Robert Miller, Board President             Dr. Peter Haslund, Board Vice President

At its organizational meeting on December 13, the District Board of Trustees elected Robert Miller as president of the board for the 2019 calendar year. Dr. Peter Haslund was elected board vice president.

President Miller was first appointed to the Governing Board in February 2018 and represents Area 2 (Goleta). He was elected to serve the remainder of former Trustee Marianne Kugler's term, through 2020. Vice President Haslund joined the Board in 2010 and represents Area 1 (Carpinteria and Montecito).


The Oath of Office was also administered to new and continuing Trustees after the November election. The Board welcomed Kate Parker (Area 7 - Santa Barbara), who was elected to a seat vacated by Marty Blum. Trustees Marsha Croninger, Peter Haslund, Robert Miller, and Jonathan Abboud were successful in their races to continue on the SBCC Board of Trustees.

The members of the SBCC board are Robert Miller (Area 2 - Goleta), Peter Haslund (Area 1 - Carpinteria and Montecito), Marsha Croninger (Area 5 - Mission Canyon and Santa Barbara), Kate Parker (Area 7 - Santa Barbara), Craig Nielsen (Area 4 - Santa Barbara), Jonathan Abboud (Area 6 - Isla Vista and Santa Barbara), Veronica Gallardo (Area 3 - Santa Barbara), and interim student Trustee Kenny Igbechi.

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2018 Santa Barbara City College