Press Releases


Luz Reyes-Martin, Director of Communications
(805) 730-4107

SBCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

At its organizational meeting on January 18, the Santa Barbara Community College District Board of Trustees elected Veronica Gallardo as president of the board for the 2018 calendar year. This organizational meeting was postponed from December due to impacts from the Thomas fire and January storm event. Jonathan Abboud was elected to another term as board vice president.

“Volunteering is something that I value. I give my time to SBCC because I believe it’s an investment in the future of the students and families that make up this community,” said Board President Gallardo.

President Gallardo joined the Governing Board in December 2012 and represents Area 3 (Santa Barbara). Vice President Abboud joined in November 2014 and represents Area 6 (Isla Vista and Santa Barbara).

SBCC Superintendent/President Dr. Anthony E. Beebe said, “I am pleased that Trustees Gallardo and Abboud have stepped up to these leadership positions and am confident that their thoughtful guidance of the entire board will ensure the continued success of our college and our students.”

Other members of the SBCC board are Marsha Croninger (Area 5 - Mission Canyon and Santa Barbara), Marty Blum (Area 7 - Santa Barbara), Craig Nielsen (Area 4 - Santa Barbara), Dr. Peter Haslund (Area 1 – Carpinteria and Montecito), and student Trustee David Panbehchi.

The Board is the process of filing by appointment the Area 2 - Goleta seat left vacant by the resignation of Dr. Marianne Kugler.

 Veronica Gallardo               jonathan abboud
President Veronica Gallardo        Vice President Jonathan Abboud

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2018 Santa Barbara City College