APPLICATION & REGISTRATION FAQs
Q: What does new $5 fee for fee-based students cover?
A: The $5 registration fee is to help pay for the adminsitrative costs associated with
registration that are not covered by the other fees. Without regard to the number
of classes enrolled in, students pay this fee only once per semester no matter how
many classes or whether paying by cash, check, or credit card. Note: This fee cannot
be refunded even if a class is cancelled for whatever reason.
Q: What does the "R" mean in the Schedule of Classes?
A: "R" means Thursday! We know this is a pain point for first-time users of our Scheduling system. For you tech wonks out there wanting to know more, our internal Banner system only has a one-letter field for "Days" that classes meet. "T" is taken by Tuesday. So our college uses "R" for Thursday.
Q: If I want to take free courses, do I need to apply if I have already been taking fee-based (paid) courses?
A: Yes. The free courses are offered through a completely separate system. If you have only been a fee-based student, then you will need to apply and register for courses in the free system.
Q: I am traveling at the moment, and unable to get the link to apply. Help!
A: Our application link is unavailable if you are attempting to apply online outside of California. When you get back home, you can try again. Once you have applied and are ready to register, you can register from anywhere inside or outside California!
Q: I have applied to the tuition-free system, and I am in my pipeline account. Why can't I add a course?
A: There could be several reasons why, but the main reasons are that either (1) registration may not be open yet for you; or (2) There is some sort of hold on your account. We encourage everyone to apply early, and get ready to register once registration opens. Please check with Admissions and Records office or come to Schott or Wake campuses.
Q: Your application is too lengthy and invasive. Can we change it to just require a name and address?
A: As of 2017, the paper application was reduced to a simple, single page with only seven (7) questions asking for the minimum information required by the State of California in order to allow us to offer free classes. The online application is similar, but if you are looking for simplicity, please enroll in person at either Wake or Schott Main Office using our one-page paper application.
Q: If I am unavailable to attend the application workshops, what can I do?
Q: Do you have a listing of both tuition-free and fee-based courses?
A: Please click on the PDF in the left column menu to see the current Schedule of Classes or pick up the free print version at either Wake or Schott campus. All classes in the Schedule are tuition-free unless denoted by a dollar sign.
Q: Can I register for my friend?
A: No. We do not allow friends to register classes on behalf of another student.
Q: How do I drop a tuition-free class?
A: To drop a class before it starts, log on to pipeline.sbcc.edu, select "Registration" and then select "Register, Add or Drop Classes." Follow the instructions given. To drop after a class has started, go to the front offices at either the Schott or Wake campuses to complete process in person.
Q: How do I drop a fee-based class?
A: To cancel and request a refund you can submit the online form by clicking this link: Fee-based refund policy and form Or you can go to the front offices at either the Schott or Wake campuses, fill out the form and submit it there.