Earth & Planetary Sciences

Back to SBCC

EPS Instructors

Geordie Armstrong

Email: bgarmstrong@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Geordie studied geography and human environmental relationships at San Francisco State, with her research focusing on women in illegal economies and the biogeography of Central America and the Sierra Nevada mountains. She has taught geography at SBCC for 8 years, and in the past taught at Ventura College and Antioch University.

Courses Taught: Human Geography, World Regional Geography, California Geography, Physical Geography, and Economic Geography.

 

 

Kate Burgner

Kate Burgner

Email: keburgner@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Kate has a BS from UC Santa Barbara in Physical Geography, and a Masters and PhD from UC Santa Barbara in Geography with an emphasis in Transportation. In addition to teaching, she owns a small consulting business specializing in data analysis and computational tools for transportation and planning purposes. She loves gardening, being outdoors and doing projects.

Courses Taught: Economic Geography

 

Aleksandra Craine

Aleksandra Craine

Email: acraine@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Aleksandra is a geographer with degrees from UC Los Angeles and CalState Northridge. Her research interests are critical animal geography and ethics, biogeography, urban ecology, and science studies. When not working at SBCC, she volunteers at the ASAP Cats and B.U.N.S. animal shelters.

Courses Taught: Physical Geography Lab

 

Bill Dinklage

Bill Dinklage, Professor

Email: wsdinklage@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Courses taught: Dynamic Earth, Environmental Geology, Energy and Natural Resources, Petrology and Rock Forming Minerals, Introductory Field Geology, and Geologic Field Camp, Field Studies of the Western Sierra Nevada, Field Studies in Death Valley, Field Studies of the Eastern Sierra Nevada

 

 

Griffin Hosseinzadeh

Griffin Hosseinzadeh

Email: ghosseinzadeh@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Webpage: griffin-h.github.io

Griffin studied physics at UC Berkeley and is currently a Ph.D. candidate in astrophysics at UC Santa Barbara. His research uses Las Cumbres Observatory, a global telescope network headquartered in Goleta, to study supernovae and other astronomical transients. In his free time, he plays trombone in the UCSB Jazz Ensemble.

Courses Taught: Observational Astronomy Lab

 

Sean Kelly

Sean Kelly, Professor

Email: spkelly@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Courses Taught: Intro Astrophysics, Introductory Astronomy, Observational Astronomy Lab

 

Charlotte Mason

Charlotte Mason

Email: camason1@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Courses Taught: Observational Astronomy Lab

 


Stephanie Mendes

Stephanie Mendes

Email: sdmendes@sbcc.edu

Courses taught: Intro Physical Oceanography Lecture and Lab, Historical Geology Lecture and Lab, Field Studies of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, Field Studies in Death Valley

 

 Jeff Meyer

Jeff Meyer, Professor

Email: meyerj@sbcc.edu Webpage: http://instructors.sbcc.edu/meyerj

Jeff has a PhD from UCSB where he worked on the southern margin of a 25 MA caldera in Northern New Mexico. After completion of his degree, he worked for 10 years in copper, gold and molybdenum exploration and mining, prior to becoming a teacher, first at Alan Hancock College and now SBCC. Jeff particularly enjoys teaching field courses and showing people the importance of understanding the earth - the hazards, resources, and environmental issues, such as global warming - that affect us all. Jeff is our GeoClub sponsor, and actively involved in student activities.

Courses taught: Dynamic Earth, Environmental Geology, Mineralogy and Resources,  Field Studies of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, Field Studies in Death Valley, Introductory Field Geology, and Geologic Field Camp, Geologic Field Seminar of the Colorado Plateau, Geologic Field Studies - Hawaiian Volcanology 

 

Erin O'Connor

Erin O'Connor, Professor

Email: oconnor@sbcc.edu Webpage: http://www.fieldstudy.com

Courses Taught: Introductory Astronomy, Observational Astronomy Lab, Black Holes and the Universe

 

Javier Rivera

Javier Rivera

Email: jrivera3@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Courses Taught: Observational Astronomy Lab

 

Michael Robinson

Michael Robinson, Professor

Email: marobinson3@sbcc.edu

Webpage: http://tinyurl.com/sbccgeog

Michael Robinson holds a B.S. in Environmental Studies and a Ph.D. in Geography, both from UC Santa Barbara. He is currently the chair of the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Santa Barbara City College.

Courses Taught: Physical Geography, Weather and Climate, and Geographic Information Systems, Field Studies of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, Field Studies in Death Valley

 

  

Kristin Sneddon

Kristin Sneddon

Email: kwsneddon@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Courses taught: Environmental Geology Lecture and Lab

 

Joe Swearngin

Joe Swearngin

Email: jswearngin@physics.ucsb.edu

Joe Swearngin received his BS in Physics at the College of Creative Studies at UCSB and his Masters in Physics at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands. He is currently working on his PhD in Physics at UCSB.  

Courses taught:  Observational Astronomy Lab, Conceptual Physics Lab

 

Jatila van der Veen

Jatila van der Veen

Email: jatila@physics.ucsb.edu

My research in science education focuses on: arts-based teaching strategies to improve access to physics for all students; learning astronomy in virtual immersive spaces; and visualization and Sonification of astrophysical data - applications in research and education. Currently, I am working with Professors Philip Lubin (Physics) and Joel Rothman (BioSci) and others on the development of a new Interdisciplinary Center for Interstellar Exploration. 

Courses taught: Introductory Astronomy

 

 

Back to topBack to top


721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2016 Santa Barbara City College